Américas Award

The Américas Award for Children’s and Young Adult LiteratureAmericas Award Logo

The Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) founded the Américas Award in 1993 to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use. CLASP offers up to two annual book awards, together with a commended list of titles. By linking the Americas, the intent is to reach beyond geographic borders, as well as multicultural-international boundaries, focusing instead upon cultural heritages within the hemisphere. The awards are administered by the Consortium of Latin American Studies Programs (CLASP) and coordinated by both Tulane University’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies and Vanderbilt University’s Center for Latin American Studies.

Books will be judged by the Américas Award Review Committee for: 1) distinctive literary quality;  2) cultural contextualization; 3) exceptional integration of text, illustration and design; and 4) potential for classroom use.

To nominate a copyright title, publishers are invited to submit review copies to the committee members. There is no entry fee. Visit for more information.

All titles are available for free checkout through the CLAS Lending Library.

2017 – Annotated List of 2017 Titles

Image result for ada's violin
2017 Award Winner
Image result for the only road
2017 Award Winner


Ada’s Violin by Susan Hood (Simon & Schuster, 2016)

The Only Road by Alexandra Diaz (Simon & Schuster, 2016)


Malaika’s Costume by Nadia L. Hohn (Groundwood Books, 2016)

The Distance Between Us by Reyna Grande (Aladdin, 2016)

2016 – Annotated List of 2016 Titles

2016 Award Winner
2016 Award Winner

Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan (Scholastic Press, 2015)
Out of Darkness by Ashley Hope-Pérez (Carolrhoda Lab, 2015)

Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras written and illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh (Harry N. Abrams, 2015) CLAS Educator Guide
Growing Up Pedro: How the Martinez Brothers Made it from the Dominican Republic All the Way to the Major Leagues written and illustrated by Matt Tavares (Candlewick Press, 2015)

2015 – Annotated List of 2015 Titles

– Separate is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & Her Family’s Fight for Desegregation by Duncan Tonatiuh. (Abrams Books, 2014) Educator Guide
– Silver People: Voices from the Panama Canal by Margarita Engle. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2014) CLAS Educator Guide

– Migrant by José Manuel Mateo and illustrated by Javier Martínez Pedro (Abrams Books, 2014)
– Strike! The Farm Workers’ Fight for their Rights by Larry Dane Brimner (Calkins Creek, 2014)

2014 – Annotated List of 2014 Titles

– Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Cindy Trumbore (Lee & Low Books, 2013)

– Diego Rivera: An Artist for the People by Susan Goldman Rubin (Abrams Books, 2013)
– Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote by Duncan Tonatiuh (Abrams Books, 2013)

2013 – Annotated List of 2013 Titles

– The Revolution of Evelyn Serrano by Sonia Manzano (Scholastic Press, 2012) Educator Guide

– Martin de Porres: The Rose in the Desert by Gary Schmidt (Clarion Books, 2012)

– In Darkness by Nick Lake (Bloomsbury Press, 2012) Educator Guide
– Drummer Boy of John John by Mark Greenwood (Lee and Low, 2012)
– Aristotle and Dante Explore Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz (Simon and Schuster, 2012) Educator Guide

2012 – Annotated List of 2012 Titles

– Hurricane Dancers: The First Caribbean Pirate Shipwreck by Margarita Engle (Henry Holt and Company, 2011) Educator Guide
– Pablo Neruda: Poet of the People by Monica Brown (Henry Holt and Company, 2011)

– Under the Mesquite by Guadalupe Garcia McCall (Lee and Low Books, Inc., 2011) Educator Guide
– The Queen of Water by Laura Resau and María Virginia Farinango (Delacorte Press, 2011) Educator Guide

– Sylvia and Aki by Winifred Conkling (Tricycle Press, 2011)

See all award winners, honorable mentions, and commended titles on the Américas Award webpage.

Engage with Américas Award Books