B.F. Bryant Award for Excellence in Teaching

The B. F. Bryant Prize for Excellence in Teaching is awarded annually to a graduate teaching assistant in the Department of Mathematics. The B.F. Bryant award was established in 1987 in honor of  Billy F. Bryant, Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus, who taught at Vanderbilt from 1948 to 1986. The award is given each spring to a graduate teaching assistant who has demonstrated concern for and accomplishments in teaching, qualities that characterized the career of Professor Bryant.

Bryant received a B.S. from the University of South Carolina, a master’s degree from Peabody College, and his doctoral degree from Vanderbilt. During his 38-year career in the Department of Mathematics, he directed the research in topology of seven Ph.D. students and received the Sarratt Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and the Thomas Jefferson Award for service in the governance of the University. He served as the chair of the Department of Mathematics from 1970 to 1976.

Past Recipients

2018        Sahana Balasubramany and Jordan Nikkel
2017        Chang-Hsin Lee and Timothy Michaels
2016        Corey Jones and Colin Klaus
2015        Michael Northington
2014        Emily Marshall
2013        Michael Hull and William Young
2012        Jeremy LeCrone and Justin Schroeder
2011        Tara Davis and Hang Wang
2010        Justin Fitzpatrick
2009        Matt Calef
2008        Jan Spakula
2007        Fumiko Futamura and Casey Leonetti
2006        Daniel Paul Biebighauser
2005        Dmitriy M. Sonkin
2004        Mozhgan Mirani
2003        D. Chris Stephens
2002        Derek O. Bruff and Nikolaos Galatos
2001        Amy H. Lin and J. Alan Alewine
2000        Sarah Ann Stewart and Ian P. Stobert
1999        Lea A. Overby and Tanya M. Morton
1998        John W. Snow
1997        David Assaf, IV
1996        Robert N. Talbert
1995        J. Derrick Head and Jeffrey A. Marasovich
1994        Deborah L. Cotten
1993        Sonya F. Stanley and Amy L. Wildsmith
1992        D. Kirk Menser
1991        Thomas P. Bass, Jr.
1990        Bradford F. Lyon
1989        James B. Hart
1988        John J. Mika
1987        Marvin E. Glover, Jr.
1986        Michael R. Pinter