Skip to main content

Welcome to the Department of Mathematics

In its more than 100-year history, the Department of Mathematics has solidified its standing as a major player in the nationwide arena of mathematical research and academic scholarship. Currently, the department boasts more than 250 undergraduate majors, 40 graduate students, and more than 50 faculty, of which about one third are postdocs. Our vibrant and close-knit community of a diverse group of scholars and students creates a stimulating and exciting atmosphere for research and study. We excel in several areas of pure and applied mathematics, including approximation theory, biomathematics, combinatorics & graph theory, geometry & topology, group theory, noncommutative geometry & operator algebras, number theory, partial differential equations, and universal algebra.

Department News

Sixteenth International Conference on Approximation Theory, May 19-22

Mar. 22, 2019—The 16th International Conference on Approximation Theory will take place at Vanderbilt University from May 19 to 22, 2019. The conference is held every three years at various U.S. locations to provide a forum for researchers in the field to meet and discuss current developments. Topics of interest include abstract approximation, compressed sensing, image and...

Read more

Shanks Workshop on Computations and Linear Programming Bounds for Energy, Packing, and Covering, May 10-12

Mar. 21, 2019—The Shanks Workshop on Computations and Linear Programming Bounds for Energy, Packing, and Covering will be held May 10-12, 2019 at Vanderbilt University. The program is organized as an intensive seminar focusing on the use of computational tools to provide insight into geometric optimization problems. The intent is to address the background, design, and implementation...

Read more

NCGOA Spring School and Shanks Lecture, May 3-9

Mar. 20, 2019—The Department of Mathematics will host the 17th Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras (NCGOA) from May 3 to 9, 2019. The event will be held in conjunction with the 34th Annual Shanks Lecture. The subject of this year’s NCGOA Spring Institute is “Algebra and Geometry Quantized and Quantified.” The focus will...

Read more

Shanks Workshop in Homotopy Theory, April 13-14

Mar. 19, 2019—The Shanks Workshop in Homotopy Theory 2019 will be held at Vanderbilt University April 13 to 14. The workshop will bring together researchers in algebraic topology from the South and Midwest to discuss the latest developments in the field. The past decade has seen an exciting expansion in the influence of homotopical techniques across a...

Read more