Award Winners Honored at Annual Ceremony

May 21, 2018 – Five students and one former postdoctoral fellow were recognized for outstanding achievements at the recent Department of Mathematics annual awards ceremony. The 2018 B.F. Bryant Prize for Excellence in Teaching was shared by graduate students Sahana Balasubramanya and Jordan Nikkel. The award recognizes graduate teaching assistants who have demonstrated concern for and accomplishments in teaching, » Read More

Vaughan Jones Named Honorary Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales

April 26, 2018 – Stevenson Distinguished Professor of Mathematics Vaughan Jones has been named an honorary fellow of the Learned Society of Wales. Established in 2010, the society is Wales’s first national academy of science and letters. It includes more than 400 distinguished fellows based in Wales, the U.K., and beyond. In announcing Jones’ honorary fellowship, the society described him as » Read More

7th International Conference on Computational Harmonic Analysis, May 14-18

April 20, 2018 – The Department of Mathematics will host the 7th International Conference on Computational Harmonic Analysis from May 14 to 18, 2018. The conference will be held in conjunction with the 33rd Annual Shanks Lecture. Computational harmonic analysis is an area of mathematical analysis that has had a significant impact in many areas of science and engineering » Read More

Vanderbilt Hosted AMS Sectional Meeting April 14-15

April 16, 2018 – Vanderbilt University hosted the American Mathematical Society Spring Southeastern Sectional Meeting April 14-15, 2018. The event featured more than 20 special sessions and more than 400 speakers, many of whom are current or former members of the Vanderbilt Department of Mathematics. A highlight of the meeting was the Erdős Memorial Lecture presented by Andrea Bertozzi » Read More

Two Faculty Members Organize ICERM Program on Point Configurations

March 27, 2018 – Professors Ed Saff and Doug Hardin are spending the spring semester at the Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics (ICERM) at Brown University, where they are organizing a Semester Program on “Point Configurations in Geometry, Physics, and Computer Science.” Saff is the director of the program committee, and Hardin is a co-organizer of » Read More

Yale’s Gal Mishne to Present Emerging Scholars Lecture

March 6, 2018 – The Department of Mathematics will host Gal Mishne, Gibbs Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics at Yale University, to present a special lecture Thursday, March 15, as part of the Emerging Scholars in Arts & Science Lecture Series. Mishne will speak at 4:00 pm in Kissam C210 on “Local Geometry of Neuronal Activity in Mice.” The » Read More

Shanks Workshop on Mathematical Aspects of Fluid Dynamics

March 2, 2018 – The Department of Mathematics will host the Shanks Workshop on Mathematical Aspects of Fluid Dyanamics March 24 to 25, 2018. The workshop will provide an opportunity for the dissemination and discussion of recent results and new techniques in the study of partial differential equations related to fluid dynamics. In particular, workshop participants will benefit from » Read More

Marcelo Disconzi Receives Sloan Fellowship

February 15, 2018 – Assistant Professor Marcelo Disconzi is one of 126 young scientists, economists, and mathematicians who were named 2018 Sloan Research Fellows. These prestigious two-year fellowships are awarded yearly to early-career researchers in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field. This year, 20 recipients are from mathematics. The 2018 » Read More

Shanks Workshop on Complex Differential Geometry

February 7, 2018 – The Shanks Workshop on Complex Differential Geometry will be held at Vanderbilt University March 2 to March 3, 2018. The workshop will bring together leading researchers to present recent results and future directions of research in complex differential geometry with focus on one main problem: understanding canonical metrics in complex geometry. The topics to be » Read More

Seven Undergraduates Inducted Into Pi Mu Epsilon Society

February 7, 2018 – Seven undergraduate mathematics majors were inducted into the Vanderbilt University Chapter of the Pi Mu Epsilon Society in December 2017. The new members are: Gregory Bixler, Yuhan Guo, Hannah Hagan, Min Soo Kim, Robert Saskowski, Rebecca Wood, and David Zhang. Pi Mu Epsilon (PME) is an honorary national mathematics society dedicated to the promotion of » Read More