Skip to main content
May 17, 2022

2022 Award Winners Honored at Annual Ceremony

Ishan and Ioana Suvaina

Six students and one postdoc were recognized for outstanding achievements at the recent Department of Mathematics annual awards ceremony.

The 2022 B.F. Bryant Prize for Excellence in Teaching was shared by graduate students Colin Bloomfield, Ishan, and Samuel Rizzo. The award recognizes graduate teaching assistants who have demonstrated concern for and accomplishments in teaching, qualities that characterized the career of former Professor and Department Chair Billy Bryant.

The Bjarni Jónsson Prize for Research was awarded jointly to Srivatsav Elayavalli Kunnawalkam and Zachary Tripp. The prize was established in honor of former Distinguished Professor Bjarni Jónsson and is awarded annually to one or more graduate students for exceptional research in mathematics and outstanding research potential.
Srivatsav Elayavalli Kunnawalkam and Jesse Peterson

Zack Tripp and Larry Rolen

The winner of this year’s Richard J. Larsen Award for Achievement in Undergraduate Mathematics was Connor Lehmacher. Established in honor of Professor Emeritus Richard Larsen, the award is presented to the senior math major judged by the faculty to have excelled in all aspects of undergraduate mathematics.

Connor Lehmacher and John Rafter

The winner of the 2022 Samir Aldroubi and Amira Azhari Prize for Excellence in Postdoctoral Research was Cain Edie-Michell, who completed a three-year postdoctoral appointment here from 2018 to 2021. The Aldroubi-Azhari Prize is awarded every two years to recognize the research achievements of current and recent postdoctoral fellows in the department. It was established by Professor Akram Aldroubi in honor of his parents, Samir Aldroubi and Amira Azhari.

Dietmar Bisch, Cain Edie-Michell, and Akram Aldroubi

The Department of Mathematics is proud to honor these accomplished award winners.