Skip to main content

Prizes and Scholarships

The following awards are available to Classical Studies students, upon nomination by a faculty member:

THE MORRIS H. BERNSTEIN JR. PRIZE IN LATIN DECLAMATION was established in 1983 by William H. Bernstein (B.A. 1983) in memory of his father, Morris H. Bernstein, Jr. (B.A. 1943, M.D. 1946). It is awarded to an undergraduate who has studied two semesters of Latin and wins a competition held in April requiring participants to deliver from memory selected Latin passages that reflect the classical ideal.

THE DAVIS PRIZE FOR TRAVEL TO ICCS, ROME, was established in 2005 by Dick (BE'69) and Barbara (BSN '69) Davis to support travel expenses for undergraduates attending the Intercollegiate Center for Classical Studies in Rome.

 THE NED PARKER NABERS AWARD was established by colleagues and friends in memory of classics professor Ned Parker Nabers who served on the faculty from 1966 until his death in 1984. It recognizes the best essay or research paper by an undergraduate in the fields of classical archaeology or ancient art or architecture.

THE RANKIN SCHOLARSHIP is available to any undergraduate student in the College of Arts and Science undertaking a summer program or project that deepens their understanding of the classical ancient Mediterranean world (e.g. Maymester course; excavation work; archaeological project; ancient language program; etc.).  Interested students should submit a 1-2 page application that 1) introduces briefly how they became interested in Classical and Mediterranean Studies, 2) explains how their proposed project would contribute to their participation in our Program, 3) list the courses in our Program which they have already taken and intend to take; and 4) the amount of funding that would enable their participation in a particular program. Special preference will be given to current majors and minors and to prospective majors and minors. The application procedure and payments are managed through the Program in Classical and Mediterranean Studies. Please address questions and send applications to Professor Daniel Solomon, We are currently accepting applications and will decide on funding during February and March on a rolling basis.

 THE SUE SUGG PIANT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1972 by Dr. W. D. Sugg (B.A. 1919, M.D. 1923) as a memorial to his sister, who was a Vanderbilt graduate. The scholarship, awarded to students majoring in classical studies, is based on financial need and academic merit.

 THE MARY ELEANOR STEELE SCHOLARSHIP was established in 1941 through a bequest from Professor Emeritus Robert Steele and his wife, Elizabeth, in memory of their daughter. Professor Steele was a member of the faculty from 1901 until 1938. The scholarship is awarded to a female student majoring in Classical Studies, though preference is given to female freshmen intending to major.