Skip to main content

Aid and Awards

As advocates and advisers, our faculty works closely with students to identify and secure financial aid and scholastic awards that recognize excellence and enhance the Vanderbilt experience. Students can seek support for special programs (such as intensive language study or excavations overseas during the summer) from a variety of both need-based and merit-based awards at a local or national level.

Department Awards

The Morris H. Bernstein Jr. Prize was established in 1983 by William H. Bernstein (BA’83) in memory of his father, Morris H. Bernstein, Jr. (BA’43, MD’46). It is awarded to an undergraduate who has studied two semesters of Latin and wins a competition held in April requiring participants to deliver (from memory) selected  Latin passages that reflect the classical ideal.

The Davis Prize was established in 2005 by Dick (BE’69) and Barbara (BSN’69) Davis to support travel expenses for undergraduates attending the Intercollegiate Center for Classical Studies in Rome.

The Ned Nabers Award was established by colleagues and friends in memory of classics professor Ned Parker Nabers who served on the faculty from 1966 until his death in 1984. It recognizes the best essay or research paper by an undergraduate in the field of classical art and archaeology.

The Rankin Scholarship was established in 1981 through the estate of Edwin Moore Rankin (BA’1896, MA’1897). It is available to any undergraduate student in the College of Arts and Science undertaking a program or project that deepens their understanding of the ancient world (e.g., Maymester course, excavation work, archaeological project, ancient language program, etc.). Interested students should submit a one to two page application that (1) introduces briefly how they became interested in classical and Mediterranean studies, (2) explains how their proposed project would contribute to their participation in our program, (3) lists the courses in our program which they have already taken and intend to take, and (4) states the amount of funding that would enable their participation in a particular program. Special preference will be given to current majors and minors and to prospective majors and minors. The application procedure and payments are managed through the Department of Classical and Mediterranean Studies. Please address questions and send applications to Professor Daniel Solomon. We are currently accepting applications and will decide funding on a rolling basis during February and March.

The Sue Sugg Piant Memorial Scholarship was established in 1972 by W. D. Sugg (BA’19, MD’23) as a memorial to his sister, who was a Vanderbilt graduate. The scholarship, awarded to students majoring in classical studies, is based on financial need and academic merit.

The Mary Eleanor Steele Scholarship was established in 1941 through a bequest from Professor Emeritus Robert Steele and his wife, Elizabeth, in memory of their daughter. Professor Steele was a member of the faculty from 1901 until 1938. The scholarship is awarded to a female student majoring in classical studies, though preference is given to female first-years intending to major.

Vanderbilt University Awards

The Global Summer Fellows Program, administered by the Global Education Office (GEO), offers need-based awards up to $8,500 for students to attend an approved Maymester or summer aboard course.

Undergraduate Experience Funding is Vanderbilt’s information portal for students seeking support for learning experiences. The site provides a centralized portal for which students can locate information about undergraduate research, experiential learning funding, and research program availability.

The Vanderbilt Undergraduate Summer Research Program (VUSRP) provides students with the opportunity to fulfill 10 weeks of full-time research during the summer under the mentorship of any full-time Vanderbilt faculty member, including faculty in the graduate and professional schools. The goal of VUSRP is to encourage and enhance student-faculty mentoring and joint research efforts.

The National Field Awards

The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) offers several awards that support student participation in archaeological field research or travel for conferences or work abroad.

The Classical Association of the Middle West and South (CAMWS) offers numerous cash prizes for undergraduates that recognize diversity, excellence in the ancient languages, essay composition, and that support faculty-student collaborations and travel.

Eta Sigma Phi (ΗΣΦ), the national honorary society for students of Greek and Latin offers scholarships to undergraduate or recent graduate members in support of classical archaeological fieldwork or participation in the following summer programs: the American Academy in Rome, the Vergilian Society in Cumae, Italy, and the American School of Classical Studies at Athens.

The Society for Classical Studies (SCS) endorses numerous awards for undergraduate students in classics, archaeology, and related fields from various sources; including its own generous Snowden Prize for students “from historically underrepresented groups across North America” and the prestigious Pearson Fellowship for outstanding students to pursue graduate study at an English or Scottish University.