Skip to Content

Communication Studies

Contact Information

phone: 615-343-8725
The Ingram Commons


  • B.A., Vanderbilt University, 1988
  • M.A., University of Texas, 1991
  • Ph.D., University of Texas, 1996

Vanessa B. Beasley

Associate Professor and Dean of The Martha Rivers Ingram Commons

Research Areas

  • presidential rhetoric
  • U.S. political communication
  • rhetorical criticism and theory

Current Positions 

  • Director, Program in American Studies
  • Editor, Presidential Rhetoric Series, Texas A&M University Press

Professional Societies

  • National Communication Association
  • Rhetoric Society of America
  • American Political Science Association
Honors & Awards
Faculty Mentorship Award, Rhetorical and Communication Theory Division, National Communication Association, 2013

Thomas Jefferson Award, Vanderbilt University, 2012

Faculty Excellence Award, Department of Speech Communication, University of Georgia, Athens, GA, 2007

Golden Mustang Award,  Southern Methodist University, 2004

Outstanding New Teacher, Southern States Communication Association, 2000

Teacher-Scholar for the College of Liberal Arts, Montague Center for Teaching Excellence, Texas A&M University,  2000

Aggie Fish Club Professor of the Year, Texas A&M University, 1999

“Camp Beasley,” Fish Camp Namesake, awarded by the students of Texas A&M University, 1999