Skip to main content

Faculty


European Studies draws upon renowned teachers and scholars in the Departments of Anthropology, Economics, English, French and Italian, Germanic and Slavic Studies, History, History of Art, Musicology, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, Sociology, and Spanish and Portuguese, and in the programs of Jewish Studies and Women's and Gender Studies.

Core Faculty

Joy Haslam Calico ,  Professor of Musicology; Professor of European Studies (Ph.D., Duke) Opera, music and politics; cultural politics in the Soviet Bloc, especially the GDR, (615) 322-2528, joy.calico@vanderbilt.edu

Emily Greble , Associate Professor of History; Associate Professor of German, Russian, and East European Studies (Ph.D. Stanford University) East European History, Minorities in Europe, Yugoslavia, emily.greble@vanderbilt.edu

Ari Joskowicz , Director of the Max Kade Center for European and German Studies, Associate Professor of Jewish Studies; Associate Professor of European Studies; Associate Professor of History (Ph.D., Chicago) Jewish history; modern European history, with a focus on Germany and France; minorities and nationalism; political and intellectual history, (615) 343-1743, a.joskowicz@vanderbilt.edu

Torben Lütjen , Visiting Associate Professor of European Studies and Political Science (Ph.D., University of Göttingen), torben.lujen@vanderbilt.edu

Meike G. J. Werner , Associate Professor of German, Associate Professor of European Studies (Ph.D. Yale) Nineteenth and Twentieth Century German literature and culture, (615) 343-0404, meike.werner@vanderbilt.edu

Christoph Mirko Zeller , Associate Professor of German (Ph.D. Stuttgart [Germany]) Eighteenth to Twentieth-Century German Literature, (615) 322-2821, christoph.m.zeller@vanderbilt.e

 Faculty

Celia Applegate, William R. Kenan, Jr. Chair of History (Ph.D., Stanford) Culture, society, and politics of modern Germany, with particular interest int the history of music; nationalism and national identity,  (615) 343-1983, celia.applegate@vanderbilt.edu

Robert F. Barsky , Professor of French; Professor of Comparative Literature; Professor of English; Professor of Jewish Studies (Ph.D., McGill [Canada]) Comparative literature, especially of the  Twentieth and Twenty-First Centuries; Jewish radical thought, (615) 322-2652, robert.barsky@vanderbilt.edu

David Blackbourn , Cornelius Vanderbilt Distinguished Chair of History, (Ph.D. Cambridge) Modern German and European history; social, political and cultural history; the history of religion; environmental history and the history of landscape; transnational history, (615) 343-7196, david.blackbourn@vanderbilt.edu

Michael D. Bess , Chancellor's Professor of History; Professor of European Studies (Ph.D., California, Berkeley) Twentieth-Century Europe, with a particular interest in the social and cultural impacts of technological change, (615) 322-3340, michael.d.bess@vanderbilt.edu

William James Booth , Professor of Political Science; Professor of Philosophy (Ph.D., Harvard) Memory, identity, and justice, (615) 322-2491, william.j.booth@vanderbilt.edu

Victoria A. Burrus , Associate Professor of Spanish (Ph.D., Wisconsin-Madison) Medieval Spanish literature, (615) 322-6860, victoria.a.burrus@vanderbilt.edu

William Caferro , Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of History (Ph.D., Yale) Medieval and Renaissance Italy, (615) 322-0097, william.p.caferro@vanderbilt.edu

Lauren R. Clay , Assistant Professor of Modern Jewish History; Assistant Professor of History (Ph.D., Pennsylvania) History of the Old Regime and revolutionary France and its empire, with particular interests in urban cultural and civic life and the emergence of a commercially oriented society,  (615) 322-5947, lauren.clay@vanderbilt.edu

Julia P. Cohen , Associate Professor of Modern Jewish Studies; Assistant Professor of History (Ph.D., Stanford) Jewish history; history of the Ottoman Empire; urban history; inter-communal relations in the modern Mediterranean; Judeo-Spanish (Sephardi) history; Jews in Islamic lands, (615) 322-6202, julia.p.cohen@vanderbilt.edu

Katherine B. Crawford , Professor of History; Director of the Women's and Gender Studies Program (Ph.D., Chicago) Gender history, especially early modern France & Europe, (615) 322-5080, katherine.b.crawford@vanderbilt.edu

Cynthia J. Cyrus , Professor of Musicology (Ph.D., North Carolina, Chapel Hill) Late Medieval monasticism; history of the book; Medieval and Renaissance musical repertories, (615) 322-4474, cynthia.j.cyrus@vanderbilt.edu

Nathalie A. Debrauwere-Miller, Associate Professor of French Jewish Studies (Ph.D., Emory) Twentieth-Century French literature and culture and feminist theory, (615) 322-6906, n.debrau@vanderbilt.edu

Nathalie Dieu-Porter , Senior Lecturer in French (D.E.A., Mons-Hainaut [Belgium]) French language and culture, (615) 322-6908, nathallie.d.porter@vanderbilt.edu

Idit Dobbs-Weinstein , Associate Professor of Philosophy; Associate Professor of Jewish Studies (Ph.D., Toronto [Canada]) Continental philosophy, (615) 322-2265, idit.dobbs-weinstein@vanderbilt.edu

Robert A. Driskill , Professor of Economics (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins) International trade, (615) 322-2128, robert.a.driskill@vanderbilt.edu

Lynn E. Enterline , Nancy Perot Chair in English (Ph.D., Cornell) Early modern British literature, (615) 322-3705, lynn.enterline@vanderbilt.edu

James A. Epstein , Distinguished Professor of History (Ph.D., Birmingham [England]) Modern British history, especially Nineteenth Century, (615) 322-3372, james.a.epstein@vanderbilt.edu

Edward F. Fischer , Professor of Anthropology (Ph.D., Tulane) Cultural anthropology; political economy; indigenous revitalization with a focus on the Maya of highland Guatemala; contemporary German labor relations, (615) 322-2527, edward.f.fischer@vanderbilt.edu

Leonard Folgarait , Professor of History of Art (Ph.D., California, Los Angeles) European art, (615) 322-0090, leonard.folgarait@vanderbilt.edu

William P. Franke , Professor of Comparative Literature; Professor of Italian; Professor of Religious Studies (Ph.D., Stanford) Italian literature, (615) 322-6902, william.p.franke@vanderbilt.edu

Edward H. Friedman , Gertrude Conaway Professor of Spanish; Professor of Comparative Literature; Professor of European Studies; (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins) Early modern Spanish literature, (615) 322-6929, edward.h.friedman@vanderbilt.edu

Marc G. Froment-Meurice , Professor of French (Ph.D., Nice, Sophia-Antipolis [France]) Modern French poetry and poetics, (615) 322-2833, marc.g.froment-meurice@vanderbilt.edu

Jay Geller , Associate Professor of Theology; Associate Professor of Modern Jewish Studies (Ph.D., Duke) Antisemitism, modern Jewish identity, the Shoah and film, (615) 343-3968, jay.geller@vanderbilt.edu

Lenn E. Goodman , Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Humanities; Professor of Philosophy; Professor of Religious Studies (Ph.D., Oxford University [UK]) Metaphysics and ethics, (615) 343-3158, lenn.e.goodman@vanderbilt.edu

Roy Gottfried , Professor of English (Ph.D., Yale University) Modern British fiction, especially Irish literature, (615) 322-2326, roy.k.gottfried@vanderbilt.edu

Barbara Hahn , Distinguished Professor of German (Ph.D., Freie, Berlin [Germany]) Modern German literature with a special interest in women's studies, (615) 322-2611, barbara.hahn@vanderbilt.edu

M. Donald Hancock , Professor of Political Science, Emeritus (Ph.D., Columbia) European Union and comparative European politics, donald.hancock@vanderbilt.edu

Joel F. Harrington , Professor of History (Ph.D., Michigan) Early modern Europe, especially Germany, (615) 322-3351, joel.f.harrington@vanderbilt.edu

Mark Jarman , Centennial Professor of English (M.F.A., Iowa) British and American poetry, (615) 322-2618, mark.jarmin@vanderbilt.edu

Christopher M. S. Johns , Norman L. and Roselea J. Goldberg Professor of Art History (Ph.D., Delaware) Eighteenth and Nineteenth-Century European art, (615) 322-2849, chrisopher.johns@vanderbilt.edu.

Lutz Koepnick , Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Chair in German; Professor of Film Studies (Ph.D., Stanford) German literature; film; media; visual culture; new media aesthetic and intellectual history from the Nineteenth to the Twenty-First Century, (615) 322-2611, lutz.koepnick@vanderbilt.edu

John Lachs , Centennial Professor of Philosophy (Ph.D., Yale) 19th century German idealism, (615) 343-0321, john.lachs@vanderbilt.edu

Leah S. Marcus , Edwin Mims Professor of English (Ph.D., Columbia) Sixteenth and Seventeenth Century literature; Shakespeare; Renaissance drama, (615) 322-2330, l.marcus@vanderbilt.edu

John A. McCarthy , Professor of German, Emeritus; Professor of Comparative Literature, Emeritus; Professor of European Studies, Emeritus (Ph.D., SUNY, Buffalo) Eighteenth-Twentieth Century German literature, culture, and society, (615) 322-6782, john.a.mccarthy@vanderbilt.edu

James McFarland, Assistant Professor of German Studies (Ph.D., Princeton University) Idealist philosophy; Nietzsche; critical theory; film; modernism, (615) 343-3188, james.mcfarland@vanderbilt.edu

Andrea Mirabile , Associate Professor of Italian; Associate Professor of Film Studies (Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) Relationships between verbal and visual arts in Italian culture; cultural interplays between Italy and France; literary theory, (615) 322-6913, andrea.mirabile@vnaderbilt.edu

Anthère Nzabatsinda , Associate Professor of French (Ph.D. Montreal [Canada])  Francophone literature, linguistics and literature, (615) 322-6914, anthere.nzabatsinda@vanderbilt.edu

Kelly Oliver , W. Alton Jones Professor of Philosophy; Professor of Women's and Gender Studies (Ph.D., Northwestern) Nineteenth and Twentieth Century continental philosophy, (615) 343-0334, kelly.oliver@vanderbilt.edu

John F. Plummer , Professor of English (Ph.D., Washington) Medieval literature, (615) 322-2317, john.f.plummer@vanderbilt.edu

Lynn T. Ramey , Associate Professor of French (Ph.D., Harvard) Medieval and Renaissance French literature and culture, (615) 322-6904, lynn.ramey@vanderbilt.edu

Philip D. Rasico , Professor of Spanish and Catalan Language and Linguisitics (Ph.D., Indiana) Catalan and Spanish language and history, (615) 322-6859, philip.d.rasico@vanderbilt.edu

Michael A. Rose , Associate Professor of Composition (Ph.D., Eastman) (615) 322-5817, michael.a.rose@vanderbilt.edu

Allison Schachter , Associate Professor of Jewish Studies; Associate Professor of English (Ph.D. California, Berkeley) Comparative Jewish literature; Hebrew and Yiddish modernism; French Jewish culture, (615) 343-3186, allison.schachter@vanderbilt.edu

Thomas Alan Schwartz , Professor of History; Professor of Political Science; Professor of European Studies (Ph.D., Harvard) History of international relations, (615) 343-4328, thomas.a.schwartz@vanderbilt.edu

Virginia M. Scott , Professor of French and Applied Linguistics; Director of Second Language Studies (Ph.D., Emory) Second language acquisition, and French language, (615) 322-6903, virginia.m.scott@vanderbilt.edu

Helmut W. Smith, Director of Digital Humanities; Martha Rivers Ingram Professor of History; Professor of European Studies (Ph.D., Yale) Early Modern and Modern German History, (615) 322-6220, helmut.w.smith@vanderbilt.edu

Jeffrey S. Tlumak , Associate Professor of Philosophy (Ph.D., Massachusetts) Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Western European philosophy, (615) 343-5909, jeffrey.tlumak@vanderbilt.edu

Barbara Tsakirgis , Associate Professor of Classics; Associate Professor of History of Art (Ph.D., Princeton) Classical archaeology, art, and architecture, (615) 343-4112, barbara.tsakirgis@vanderbilt.edu

Holly A. Tucker , Professor of French; Professor of Medicine, Health, and Society (Ph.D., Wisconsin) Early modern French literature,(615) 322-6905, holly.tucker@vanderbilt.edu

Bettina C.  Warnke , Assistant Professor of European Studies; Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies; Assistant Dean of The Ingram Commons (Ph.D., Columbia) Yiddish literature, language, and culture; Jewish theater; Holocaust drama, (615) 322-2967, nina.warnke@vanderbilt.edu

Francis W. Wcislo , Associate Professor of History; Associate Professor of European Studies (Ph.D., Columbia) Modern Russian history, (615) 322-4948, francis.w.wcislo@vanderbilt.edu

Mark A. Wollaeger , Professor of English (Ph.D., Yale) Modern British fiction, (615) 322-7463, mark.wollaeger@vanderbilt.edu

David C.  Wood , W. Alton Jones Professor of Philosophy; Professor of European Studies; Professor of Art (Ph.D., Warwick [United Kingdom]) Contemporary European philosophy, (615) 343-7189, david.c.wood@vanderbilt.edu 

Andres Zamora , Associate Professor of Spanish; Associate Professor of European Studies; Associate Professor of Political Science (Ph.D., Southern California, Los Angeles) Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish literature, (615) 322-6858, andres.zamora@vanderbilt.edu