Skip to main content

Faculty

European Studies draws upon renowned teachers and scholars in the Departments of Anthropology, English, French and Italian, Jewish Studies, German, Russian, and East European Studies, History, History of Art, Musicology, Philosophy, Political Science, Religious Studies, Sociology, and Spanish and Portuguese.

Core Faculty

Robert F. Barsky
Professor of French, Comparative Literature, English, and Jewish Studies
Specializations: Comparative literature, especially of the Twentieth and Twenty-first Centuries; Jewish radical thought
Phone: (615) 322-2652
Email: robert.barsky@vanderbilt.edu

 

Michael D. Bess
Chancellor's Professor of History
Professor of European Studies and Communication of Science and Technology
Specializations: Twentieth-century Europe, with a particular interest in the social and cultural impacts of technological change
Phone: (615) 322-3340
Email: michael.d.bess@vanderbilt.edu

 

Joy Haslam Calico
Cornelius Vanderbilt Professor of Musicology
Professor of German Studies
Specializations: Opera, music & politics; cultural politics in the Soviet Bloc, especially the GDR
Phone: (615) 322-2528
Email: joy.calico@vanderbilt.edu

 

Emily Greble (on leave 2021-2022)
Associate Professor of History and German, Russian, & East European Studies
Specializations: East European history; minorities in Europe; Yugoslavia
Email: emily.greble@vanderbilt.edu

 

Ari Joskowicz
Director of the Max Kade Center for European and German Studies
Associate Professor of Jewish Studies, European Studies, and History
Specializations: Jewish history; modern European history; German & French history; minorities & nationalism
Phone: (615) 343-1743
Email: a.joskowicz@vanderbilt.edu

 

Letizia Modena
Associate Professor of Italian
Specializations: Intersections of literature and film with architecture and urban studies
Email: letizia.modena@vanderbilt.edu

 

Alexander Schmidt
Visiting Associate Professor of European Studies, DAAD Professor
Specializations: History of human rights; Enlightenment; history of political thought
Email: alexander.schmidt@vanderbilt.edu

 

Meike G. J. Werner
Associate Professor of German and European Studies
Chair of French & Italian
Specializations: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century German literature and culture
Phone: (615) 343-0404
Email: meike.werner@vanderbilt.edu

 

Christoph Mirko Zeller
Professor of German and European Studies
Specializations: Eighteenth to Twentieth Century German literature
Phone: (615) 322-2821
Email: christoph.m.zeller@vanderbilt.edu

 

Associated Faculty

Celia Applegate
William R. Kenan, Jr. Chair of History 
Professor of History
Specializations: Culture, society, & politics of modern Germany, with particular interest int the history of music; nationalism & national identity
Phone: (615) 343-1983
Email: celia.applegate@vanderbilt.edu

 

David Blackbourn
Cornelius Vanderbilt Distinguished Chair of History
Professor of History
Specializations: Modern German & European history; social, political, & cultural history; the history of religion; environmental history & the history of landscape; transnational history
Phone: (615) 343-7196
Email: david.blackbourn@vanderbilt.edu

 

William James Booth
Professor of Political Science and Philosophy
Specializations: Memory; identity; justice
Phone: (615) 322-2491
Email: william.j.booth@vanderbilt.edu

 

Victoria A. Burrus
Associate Professor of Spanish
Specializations: Medieval Spanish literature
Phone: (615) 322-6860
Email: victoria.a.burrus@vanderbilt.edu

 

Lauren R. Clay
Associate Professor of History
Specializations: History of the Old Regime and Revolutionary France and its empire, with particular interests in urban cultural and civic life and the emergence of a commercially oriented society
Phone: (615) 322-5947
Email: lauren.clay@vanderbilt.edu

 

Nathalie A. Debrauwere-Miller
Associate Professor of French and Jewish Studies
Specializations: Twentieth Century French literature & culture; feminist theory
Phone: (615) 322-6906
Email: n.debrau@vanderbilt.edu

 

Nathalie Dieu-Porter
Senior Lecturer in French
Director of the Center for Second Language Studies
Specializations: French language & culture
Phone: (615) 322-6908
Email: nathallie.d.porter@vanderbilt.edu

 

Robert A. Driskill
Professor of Economics
Specializations: Macroeconomics; international trade; money
Phone: (615) 322-2128
Email: robert.a.driskill@vanderbilt.edu

 

Lynn E. Enterline
Nancy Perot Chair Professor of English
Specializations: Early modern British literature
Phone: (615) 322-3705
Email: lynn.enterline@vanderbilt.edu

 

Leonard Folgarait
Distinguished Professor of History of Art
Specializations: The relationship of art to politics; early cubism; surrealism; performance art; film; photography; historiography
Phone: (615) 322-0090
Email: leonard.folgarait@vanderbilt.edu

 

William P. Franke
Professor of Comparative Literature, Italian, and Religious Studies
Specializations: Italian literature
Phone: (615) 322-6902
Email: william.p.franke@vanderbilt.edu

 

Jay Geller
Professor of Modern Jewish Culture (Emeritus)
Specializations: Antisemitism; modern Jewish identity; the Shoah & film
Phone: (615) 343-3968
Email: jay.geller@vanderbilt.edu

 

Joel F. Harrington
Centennial Professor of History
Specializations: Early modern Europe, especially Germany
Phone: (615) 322-3351
Email: joel.f.harrington@vanderbilt.edu

 

Christopher M. S. Johns
Professor of History of Art
Specializations: Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century European art
Phone: (615) 322-2849
Email: chrisopher.johns@vanderbilt.edu

 

Lutz Koepnick
Chair of German, Russian, & Eastern European Studies
Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Professor of German
Professor of Cinema & Media Arts
Specializations: German literature; film; media; visual culture; new media aesthetic & intellectual history from the Nineteenth to the Twenty-first Century
Phone: (615) 322-2611
Email: lutz.koepnick@vanderbilt.edu

 

James McFarland
Associate Professor of German
Specializations: Idealist philosophy; Nietzsche; critical theory; film; modernism
Phone: (615) 343-3188
Email: james.mcfarland@vanderbilt.edu

 

Andrea Mirabile
Associate Professor of Italian and Cinema & Media Arts
Specializations: Relationships between verbal and visual arts in Italian culture; cultural interplays between Italy and France; literary theory
Phone: (615) 322-6913
Email: andrea.mirabile@vnaderbilt.edu

 

Kelly Oliver
W. Alton Jones Professor of Philosophy
Specializations: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century continental philosophy
Phone: (615) 343-0334
Email: kelly.oliver@vanderbilt.edu

 

Lynn T. Ramey
Associate Professor of French
Faculty Director of the Center for Digital Humanities
Specializations: Medieval and Renaissance French literature and culture
Phone: (615) 322-6904
Email: lynn.ramey@vanderbilt.edu

 

Philip D. Rasico
Professor of Spanish and Catalan Language and Linguisitics
Specializations: Catalan and Spanish language and history
Phone: (615) 322-6859
Email: philip.d.rasico@vanderbilt.edu

 

Allison Schachter
Chair of Jewish Studies
Associate Professor of Jewish Studies and English
Specializations: Comparative Jewish literature; Hebrew and Yiddish modernism; French Jewish culture
Phone: (615) 343-3186
Email: allison.schachter@vanderbilt.edu

 

Thomas Alan Schwartz
Distinguished Professor of History
Professor of Political Science and European Studies
Specializations: History of international relations
Phone: (615) 343-4328
Email: thomas.a.schwartz@vanderbilt.edu

 

Virginia M. Scott
Professor Emerita of French and Applied Linguistics
Professor of Education
Specializations: Second language acquisition; French language
Phone: (615) 322-6903
Email: virginia.m.scott@vanderbilt.edu

 

Helmut W. Smith
Martha Rivers Ingram Chair of History
Professor of European Studies and History
Specializations: Early Modern & Modern German History
Phone: (615) 322-6220
Email: helmut.w.smith@vanderbilt.edu

 

Holly A. Tucker
Mellon Foundation Chair in the Humanities
Professor of French
Specializations: Early modern French literature
Phone: (615) 322-6905
Email: holly.tucker@vanderbilt.edu

 

Mark A. Wollaeger
Professor of English
Specializations: Modern British fiction
Phone: (615) 322-7463
Email: mark.wollaeger@vanderbilt.edu

 

Andres Zamora
Chair of Spanish & Portuguese
Professor of Spanish
Specializations: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish literature
Phone: (615) 322-6858
Email: andres.zamora@vanderbilt.edu