Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Ibby Cizmar Ibby Cizmar

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.A., Bucknell University, 2003
M.F.A., Actors Studio Drama School/New School for Drama, 2006
Ph.D., Tufts University, 2017

Christin Essin

Christin Essin
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Theatre
Theatre History
B.A., Wake Forest University, 1993
M.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin, 2006
Office: 207 Neely Auditorium
elizabeth.c.essin@vanderbilt.edu

Phillip Franck

Phillip Franck
Department Chair
Associate Professor of Theatre
Scenic, Lighting, & Audio Design
B.A., University of Puget Sound, 1990
M.F.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
www.phillipfranck.com
phillip.franck@vanderbilt.edu

Jon W. Hallquist

Jon W. Hallquist
Associate Professor of Theatre Emeritus
Co-director of the Vanderbilt University Theatre 
Acting & Directing 
B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977 
A.M., Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1979, 1985 
jon.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu

Terryl W. Hallquist

Terryl W. Hallquist
Associate Professor of Theatre Emerita
Co-director of the Vanderbilt University Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977
A.M., Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1979, 1985
terryl.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu

Krista Knight

Krista Knight
Writer-in-Residence
B.A., Brown University, 2006
M.A., New York University, 2008
M.F.A., UC San Diego, 2011
Artist Diploma, The Juiliard School, 2018
Office: 206 Neely Auditorium
krista.knight@Vanderbilt.Edu

Leah Lowe

Leah Lowe
(On Leave 2020-21)
Associate Professor of Theatre
Directing & Dramaturgy
A.B., Oberlin College, 1985
M.F.A., University of Minnesota, 1988
Ph.D., Florida State University, 2000
Office: 201 Neely Auditorium
leah.lowe@vanderbilt.edu

Alexandra A. Sargent

Alexandra Sargent Capps 
Principal Senior Lecturer of Theatre
Costume Designer & Costume Shop Manager
B.A., MIddlebury College, 1989
M.F.A. Northwestern University, 1995
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
alexandra.a.sargent@vanderbilt.edu

  Kristyl Tift

Kristyl Tift

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.A., Georgia Southern University, 2004
M.F.A., Actors Studio Drama School/New School for Drama, 2007
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2017
kristyl.d.tift@Vanderbilt.Edu

Emily Stewart
Interim Administrative Assistant
B.H.A. Carnegie Mellon University, 2018
Office: 301 Garland Hall
emily.l.stewart@vanderbilt.edu