Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Mark Cabus Mark Cabus

Lectuer in Theatre
B.F.A., Belmont University
M.F.A., George Washington University

Ibby Cizmar Ibby Cizmar

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.A. Bucknell University, 2003
M.F.A., Actors Studio Drama School/New School for Drama, 2006
Ph.D., Tufts University, 2017

Rene Copeland René D. Copeland

Lecturer in Theatre
BFA, University of Montevallo, 1979
MFA, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, 1985

Christin Essin Christin Essin
Associate Professor of Theatre
Theatre History
B.A., Wake Forest University, 1993
M.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin, 2006
Office: 207 Neely Auditorium
elizabeth.c.essin@vanderbilt.edu
Phillip Franck Phillip Franck
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Theatre
Scenic, Lighting, & Audio Design
B.A., University of Puget Sound, 1990
M.F.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
www.phillipfranck.com
phillip.franck@vanderbilt.edu
Jon W. Hallquist Jon W. Hallquist  Associate Professor of Theatre Emeritus
Co-director of the Vanderbilt University Theatre 
Acting & Directing 
B.S. Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977 
A.M., Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1979, 1985 
jon.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu
Terryl W. Hallquist Terryl W. Hallquist Associate Professor of Theatre Emerita
Co-director of the Vanderbilt University Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.S. Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977
A.M., Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1979, 1985
terryl.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu
Krista Knight Krista Knight
Writer-in-Residence
B.A., Brown University, 2006
M.A., New York University, 2008
M.F.A., UC San Diego, 2011
Artist Diploma, The Juiliard School, 2018
Office: 206 Neely Auditorium
krista.knight@Vanderbilt.Edu
Leah Lowe Leah Lowe Department Chair
Associate Professor of Theatre
Directing & Dramaturgy
A.B., Oberlin College, 1985
M.F.A., University of Minnesota, 1988
Ph.D., Florida State University, 2000
Office: 201 Neely Auditorium
leah.lowe@vanderbilt.edu
Alexandra A. Sargent Alexandra Sargent Capps  Principal Senior Lecturer of Theatre
Costume Designer & Costume Shop Manager
B.A. MIddlebury College, 1989
M.F.A. Northwestern University, 1995
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
alexandra.a.sargent@vanderbilt.edu
Matthew Stratton Matthew D. Stratton  Principal Senior Lecturer of Theatre
Technical Director & Scenic Artist
B.A. Southern Illinios University, 2006
M.F.A. University of Illinois, 2009
Office: 204 Neely Auditorium
matthew.stratton@vanderbilt.edu
   
Laura Bodin
Administrative Assistant
B.M., University of Akron, 1985
M.M., Northern Illinois University, 1988
Office: 103 Neely Auditorium
laura.bodin@Vanderbilt.edu