Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Christin Essin Christin Essin
Associate Professor of Theatre
Theatre History
B.A., Wake Forest University, 1993
M.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin, 2006
Office: 207 Neely Auditorium
elizabeth.c.essin@vanderbilt.edu


Phillip Franck Phillip Franck
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Theatre
Scenic, Lighting, & Audio Design
B.A., University of Puget Sound, 1990
M.F.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
www.phillipfranck.com
phillip.franck@vanderbilt.edu


Krista Knight Krista Knight
Writer-in-Residence
B.A., Brown University, 2006
M.A., New York University, 2008
M.F.A., UC San Diego, 2011
Artist Diploma, The Juiliard School, 2018
Office: 206 Neely Auditorium
krista.knight@Vanderbilt.Edu


Jon W. Hallquist Jon W. Hallquist  Associate Professor of Theatre Emeritus
Co-director of the Vanderbilt University Theatre 
Acting & Directing 
B.S. Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977 
A.M., Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1979, 1985 
jon.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu


Terryl W. Hallquist Terryl W. Hallquist Associate Professor of Theatre Emerita
Co-director of the Vanderbilt University Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.S. Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977
A.M., Ph.D. University of Michigan, 1979, 1985
terryl.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu


Leah Lowe Leah Lowe Department Chair
Associate Professor of Theatre
Directing & Dramaturgy
A.B., Oberlin College, 1985
M.F.A., University of Minnesota, 1988
Ph.D., Florida State University, 2000
Office: 201 Neely Auditorium
leah.lowe@vanderbilt.edu


Alexandra A. Sargent Alexandra A. Sargent Senior Lecturer of Theatre
Costume Designer & Costume Shop Manager
B.A. MIddlebury College, 1989
M.F.A. Northwestern University, 1995
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
alexandra.a.sargent@vanderbilt.edu


Matthew Stratton Matthew D. Stratton Senior Lecturer of Theatre
Technical Director & Scenic Artist
B.A. Southern Illinios University, 2006
M.F.A. University of Illinois, 2009
Office: 204 Neely Auditorium
matthew.stratton@vanderbilt.edu


Jonathan Vandendberg Jonathan Vandenberg Senior Lecturer of Theatre B.A., Santa Clara University, 1998 M.F.A., Columbia University, 2011 Office: 203AA Neely Auditorium jonathan.vandenberg@vanderbilt.edu


Laura Bodin
Administrative Assistant
B.M., University of Akron, 1985
M.M., Northern Illinois University, 1988
Office: 103 Neely Auditorium
laura.bodin@Vanderbilt.edu