Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

Ibby Cizmar Ibby Cizmar

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.A., Bucknell University, 2003
M.F.A., Actors Studio Drama School/New School for Drama, 2006
Ph.D., Tufts University, 2017

Christin Essin

Christin Essin
Director of Undergraduate Studies

  • advising hours: Thursdays 11:30am-12:30 pm, by appointment

Associate Professor of Theatre
Theatre History
B.A., Wake Forest University, 1993
M.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Ph.D., University of Texas-Austin, 2006
Office: 207 Neely Auditorium
elizabeth.c.essin@vanderbilt.edu

Phillip Franck

Phillip Franck
Department Chair
Professor of Theatre
Scenic, Lighting, & Audio Design
B.A., University of Puget Sound, 1990
M.F.A., Northwestern University, 1998
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
www.phillipfranck.com
phillip.franck@vanderbilt.edu

Jon W. Hallquist

Jon W. Hallquist
Associate Professor of Theatre Emeritus
B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977 
A.M., Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1979, 1985 
jon.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu

Terryl W. Hallquist

Terryl W. Hallquist
Associate Professor of Theatre Emerita
B.S., Nebraska Wesleyan, 1977
A.M., Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1979, 1985
terryl.w.hallquist@vanderbilt.edu

Liz Haynes

Liz Haynes
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Theatre
Technical Director
B.A., Clemson University, 2017
M.F.A., University of Nevada, Las Vegas, 2020

Krista Knight

Krista Knight
Writer-in-Residence
B.A., Brown University, 2006
M.A., New York University, 2008
M.F.A., UC San Diego, 2011
Artist Diploma, The Juiliard School, 2018
Office: 206 Neely Auditorium
krista.knight@Vanderbilt.Edu

Leah Lowe

Leah Lowe
Associate Professor of Theatre
Directing & Dramaturgy
A.B., Oberlin College, 1985
M.F.A., University of Minnesota, 1988
Ph.D., Florida State University, 2000
Office: 201 Neely Auditorium
leah.lowe@vanderbilt.edu

Alexandra A. Sargent

Alexandra Sargent Capps 
Assistant Professor of the Practice of Theatre
Costume Designer & Costume Shop Manager
B.A., MIddlebury College, 1989
M.F.A. Northwestern University, 1995
Office: 202 Neely Auditorium
alexandra.a.sargent@vanderbilt.edu

Kristyl Tift

Kristyl Tift
Assistant Professor of Theatre
Acting & Directing
B.A., Georgia Southern University, 2004
M.F.A., Actors Studio Drama School/New School for Drama, 2007
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2017
kristyl.d.tift@Vanderbilt.Edu

emily headshot

Emily Stewart
Administrative Specialist, Departments of Art and Theatre
B.H.A., Carnegie Mellon University, 2018
emily.l.stewart@vanderbilt.edu