Skip to main content

Faculty and Staff

CHINA

DEPARTMENT APPOINTMENTS

Robert Campany
Gertrude Conway Vanderbilt Chair in the Humanities
Professor of Asian Studies

Religions in China
259 Buttrick Hall
615-343-1683
rob.campany@vanderbilt.edu

 

Guojun Wang
Assistant Professor of Asian Studies

Late Imperial Chinese Literature 
260 Buttrick Hall
615-343-1714
guojun.wang@vanderbilt.edu

 

Yinghui Guo
Senior Lecturer in Chinese

254 Buttrick Hall
615-322-7317
yinghui.guo@vanderbilt.edu

 

Xianmin Liu
Principal Senior Lecturer in Chinese

252 Buttrick Hall
615-343-7824
xianmin.liu@vanderbilt.edu

 

Pengfei Li
Lecturer in Chinese
254 Buttrick
615-322-2616
pengfei.li@vanderbilt.edu

 

Qing Wei
Lecturer in Chinese
253 Buttrick Hall
615-343-7823
qing.wei@vanderbilt.edu

 

INTERDEPARTMENTAL

Brett Benson
Associate Professor of Political Science

East Asian Political Relations
330 Commons Center
615-322-2702
brett.benson@vanderbilt.edu

 

Peter Lorge
Associate Professor of History

Premodern China; Chinese Thought; Military History
215 Benson Hall
615-322-3707
peter.lorge@vanderbilt.edu

 

Tracy Miller
Associate Professor of History of Art

East Asian Art & Architecture
136 Cohen Memorial Hall
615-322-0214
tracy.g.miller@vanderbilt.edu

 

Ruth Rogaski
Associate Professor of History

Modern China; History of Medicine
112 Benson Hall
615- 322-5950
ruth.rogaski@vanderbilt.edu

 

Lijun Song
Associate Professor of Sociology

220C Garland Hall
615-322-1731
lijun.song@vanderbilt.edu

 

Meng Zhang
Assistant Professor of History
127 Benson
615-322-7638
meng.zhang.1@vanderbilt.edu


Ruining Deng
McTyeire Chinese Hall Coordinator
r.deng@vanderbilt.edu

 

SUPPORT STAFF

Yuh-Fen Benda
Asian Studies Librarian

800 FJ Central Library
615-343-2091
yuh-fen.benda@vanderbilt.edu

JAPAN

DEPARTMENT APPOINTMENTS

Gerald Figal
Chair
Professor of Asian Studies and History
History & Cultural Studies of Japan; Okinawa
241 Buttrick Hall
615-322-4712
gerald.figal@vanderbilt.edu

 

Nozomi Imai
Lecturer in Japanese

256 Buttrick Hall 
nozomi.imai@vanderbilt.edu

 

Asami Nakano
Lecturer in Japanese

256 Buttrick Hall
asami.nakano@vanderbilt.edu

 

Hideko Shimizu
Senior Lecturer in Japanese

257 Buttrick
615-322-7306
hideko.shimizu@vanderbilt.edu

 

INTERDEPARTMENTAL

Yoshikuni Igarashi
Professor of History

History of Japan; Japanese Cultural Studies
242 Buttrick Hall
615-322-3334
yoshikuni.igarashi@vanderbilt.edu

 

Susan Dine
Senior Lecturer in Asian Art & Architecture
Japanese Art
130 Cohen Hall
susan.dine@vanderbilt.edu

 

Koichi Oyakawa
McTyeire Japanese Hall Coordinator
koichi.oyakawa@vanderbilt.edu

 

KOREA

DEPARTMENT APPOINTMENTS

We Jung Yi
Assistant Professor of Asian Studies 
Modern Korean Literature; Cultural History; Film & Media
234 Buttrick Hall
615-343-2220
wejung.yi@vanderbilt.edu

 

Seok Bae Jang
Senior Lecturer in Korean
251 Buttrick Hall
615-343-0434
seok.jang@vanderbilt.edu

 

Ji You Whang
Lecturer in Korean
246 Buttrick Hall
ji.you.whang@vanderbilt.edu

 

Ji Young Chung
McTyeire Korean Hall Coordinator
Lecturer in Korean
ji.young.chung@vanderbilt.edu

 

INTERDEPARTMENTAL

Bohyeong Kim
Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Korean Digital Culture
bohyeong.kim@vanderbilt.edu

 

ASIAN AMERICA & DIASPORA

DEPARTMENT APPOINTMENTS

Vivian Shaw
Mellon Assistant Professor of Asian Ameican Studies 
Sociology of Asian America; Global-Comparative Environmental Inequalities & Social Movements; Race & Ethnicity; Gender
236 Buttrick Hall
vivian.shaw@vanderbilt.edu

 

Mark John Sanchez (from Fall 2022)
Assistant Professor of Asian Ameican Studies 
Philippines; Asian America; History; Labor & Migration; Human Rights & Social Movements
mark.j.sanchez@vanderbilt.edu

SOUTH/SOUTHEAST ASIA

DEPARTMENT APPOINTMENTS

Mabel Denzin Gergan
Assistant Professor of Asian Studies
Postcolonial Environmentalism; Race & Ethnicity in South Asia
233 Buttrick Hall
m.d.gergan@vanderbilt.edu

 

Ben Tran
Associate Professor of Asian Studies and English
Vietnamese & SE Asian Literature; Asian American Literature
258 Buttrick Hall
615-322-7303
ben.tran@vanderbilt.edu

 

Divya Chaudhry
Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu
237 Buttrick
divya.chaudhry@vanderbilt.edu

 

Elliott McCarter
Senior Lecturer in Hindi-Urdu
255 Buttrick
615-875-9042 
e.c.mccarter@vanderbilt.edu

 

INTERDEPARTMENTAL

Adeana McNicholl
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Buddhist Traditions of South and Southeast Asia
301D Garland Hall
615-322-0095
adeana.mcnicholl@vanderbilt.edu

 

Akshya Saxena
Assistant Professor of English
South Asian Anglophone Literature & Media
425 Benson Hall
615-875-8137
akshya.saxena@vanderbilt.edu

 

Samira Sheikh
Associate Professor of History
History of South Asia 
223 Benson Hall 
615-322-4740 
samira.sheikh@vanderbilt.edu

 

Tony K. Stewart
Gertrude Conaway Vanderbilt Chair in Humanities
Professor of the History of Religions
South Asian Religions
tony.k.stewart@vanderbilt.edu

 

Anand V. Taneja
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Islamic Traditions of South Asia
308 Garland Hall
615-343-9132
anand.v.taneja@vanderbilt.edu

 

AFFILIATED FACULTY

James E. Auer
Emeritus Director of the James E. Auer U.S.-Japan Center

615-727-1411
james.e.auer@vanderbilt.edu

 

Xiu Cravens
Associate Dean for International Students and Affairs
Associate Professor of the Practice in Education Policy Department of Leadership Policy and Organizations
210E Payne
615-322-5521
xiu.cravens@vanderbilt.edu

 

Raymond A. Friedman
Brownlee O. Currey Professor of Management
615-322-3992
raymond.a.friedman@vanderbilt.edu

 

Paul Lim
Associate Professor of the History of Christianity and History
615-343-3975 
paul.lim@vanderbilt.edu