Paper Co-authored by Phil Crooke Wins Best Manuscript Award

June 15, 2015 – A paper co-authored by Prof. Phil Crooke has won a prestigious award given annually by Innovations, the official journal of the International Society for Minimally Invasive Cardiothoracic Surgery (ISMICS). The award, which includes a $2,000 prize, is given for the best manuscript from those that were submitted to the journal after being presented to the » Read More

Glenn Webb Honored with Special Issue

May 26, 2015 – Professor Glenn Webb has been honored with the dedication of a special issue of Mathematical Sciences and Bioengineering (MBE). Volume 12, Number 4 (2015) of the journal is dedicated to Webb in honor of his 70th birthday.

Recent Advances in Kähler Geometry Conference, May 18-22

May 6, 2015 – The Department of Mathematics will host an international conference on Recent Advances in Kähler Geometry, May 18-22, 2015. The conference is held in conjunction with the 30th Annual Shanks Lecture. This year’s featured Shanks Lecturer is Fields Medalist Professor Shing-Tung Yau of Harvard University. Kähler geometry is an area of mathematics that has seen a » Read More

Student Award Winners Announced at Annual Ceremony

May 5, 2015 – Two graduate students and one undergraduate were recognized recently at the Department of Mathematics annual student awards ceremony. This year’s graduate honors went to Yuanzhen Shao for outstanding research and to Michael Northington for excellence in teaching. Mathematics senior Paul Ponmattam was recognized for undergraduate achievement. The Bjarni Jónsson Prize for Research was awarded to » Read More

Thirteenth Annual NCGOA Spring Institute, May 1-7

April 15, 2015 – The Department of Mathematics will host the Thirteenth Annual Spring Institute on Noncommutative Geometry and Operator Algebras May 1-7, 2015. The theme of the 2015 event is Operator Algebras and Approximation Properties of Groups. The Spring Institute is a combination of spring school and international research conference. During the school part of the meeting several » Read More

New Issue of Spectrum Newsletter Now Available

February 12, 2015 – The spring 2015 edition of Spectrum, the departmentʼs biennial newsletter, has just been published. Highlights include a research profile of Distinguished Professor Ralph McKenzie, Professor Neamtu’s latest work in approximation theory, and photos of the departmentʼs major renovation. For more news about our faculty and student activities, you can view a PDF of Spectrum here.

Alexander Olshanskii Named a Fellow of the AMS

November 4, 2014 – Centennial Professor Alexander Olshanskii has been named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The society recognized Olshanskii for his contributions to combinatorial and geometric group theory. The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of » Read More

Vaughan Jones Elected Vice President of the IMU

August 29, 2014 – Stevenson Distinguished Professor Vaughan Jones has been elected a Vice President of the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union (IMU). He will serve a four-year term beginning in January 2015. The IMU is an international non-governmental and non-profit scientific organization with the purpose of promoting international cooperation in mathematics. One of its key functions » Read More

Constructive Functions 2014 Conference, May 26-30

May 23, 2014 – An international conference entitled Constructive Functions 2014 will be held at Vanderbilt May 26-30, 2014. The focus of the conference is on all aspects of constructive function theory, from asymptotics to zero distribution, and on minimum energy problems on manifolds. The conference is being held in honor of the 70th birthday of Professor Ed Saff. » Read More

5th International Conference
on Computational Harmonic Analysis, May 19-23

May 8, 2014 – The 5th International Conference on Computational Harmonic Analysis will be held at Vanderbilt May 19-23, 2014, in conjunction with the 29th annual Shanks Lecture. The purpose of the conference is to foster research and collaboration in the field of computational harmonic analysis, an area of mathematical analysis that has had a strong impact on many » Read More