Skip to main content
November 4, 2014

Alexander Olshanskii Named a Fellow of the AMS

Centennial Professor Alexander Olshanskii has been named a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The society recognized Olshanskii for his contributions to combinatorial and geometric group theory.

The Fellows of the AMS designation recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics. Among the goals of the program are to create an enlarged class of mathematicians recognized by their peers as distinguished for their contributions to the profession and to honor excellence.

Olshanksii is the ninth Department of Mathematics faculty member to be named an AMS Fellow. The others are Professors Akram Aldroubi, Dietmar Bisch, Mark N. Ellingham, Edward Saff, and Glenn Webb; Distinguished Professor Emeritus Bjarni J?nsson; Stevenson Distinguished Professor Vaughan F.R. Jones; and Centennial Professor Mark Sapir.

For a profile of Olshankii?s career, see page 10 of the Fall 2012 issue of Spectrum, the Department of Mathematics newsletter. A description of the Fellows program is at