Skip to main content

Pi Delta Phi

La Société d’Honneur Française Nationale


Pi Delta Phi a pour but de reconnaître et de signaler le mérite dans l’étude de la langue française, de la littérature et de la civilisation francophone chez les étudiants américains est de favoriser le développement des liens entre les peuples américains et ceux de langue française.



Oct. 1, 2018: Deadline for applications
Oct. 15, 2018:  Deadline for dues
Nov. 1, 2018:  Initiation Ceremony and Reception, 4:30 pm, Furman 209–reception following.

Pi Delta Phi application 2017

2016 Pi Delta Phi Initiates:


Jacob Abell
Richa Bijlani
Alexandra Nickerson
Marissa Davis
Kristen  Nordham
Meredith Bradshaw
Agnes Bell
Emma Hollingsworth
Niina Kurki
Alexa LaBarbiera
Meghan McGinley
Robert Barsky, Honorary


Also pictured are President Hannah Resnick and Exchange Student Alexandra Astier.


Pi Delta Phi is the National French Honor Society. The purpose of this Society is (1) to recognize outstanding scholarship in the French language and its literature, (2) to increase the knowledge and appreciation of Americans for the cultural contributions of the French-speaking world, and (3) to stimulate and to encourage French and francophone cultural activities.

The Vanderbilt Chapter, inaugurated in 1990, is Kappa Lambda.  Students with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 and a French GPA of 3.6 who have taken at least 4 classes at the 2500 level or above may apply for membership in Pi Delta Phi.

For more information on Pi Delta Phi, please visit their website .

2015 Pi Delta Phi Inductees

Lauren Alexandra Brooks
Renzo Antonio Costa
Sophia Karyn Cramer
Michael Paul Frankland
Bonnie Marie Griffin
Mary E Gwin
Lucy J Hall Hartley
Olivia Ruth Huddleston-Boatman
Ariane Marie Huet
Changlin Ke
Margaret C King
Katharine Patricia Linek
Emmett Zane McKinney
Madison Erin McMurray
Caroline P Nicholas
Hannah Melody Resnick
Gianna R Strand
Kate Slater Thomson
Gideon Ticho
Paige Christine Wilson