Skip to main content

Undergraduate Awards

The department gives out several awards each Spring to graduating seniors.


Outstanding Undergraduate English Major Award

Established in 1998 and presented in honor of the distinguished teaching careers of Professors Emerson Brown, Jr., Ann Jennalie Cook, and Leonard Nathanson. The award is given to that English major who best embodies the values of intellectual excellence, scholarly discipline, and engagement with the subject of English literature.


Best Undergraduate Honors Thesis Award

Awarded in recognition of the best Honors thesis written by a graduating senior. Check out our Honors page for information about the Honors Program.


Merrill Moore Award

Three awards are given each year to creative writers in the categories of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. This award was endowed in 1961 by Mrs. Merrill Moore, Squantum, Massachusetts, in memory of her husband, Dr. Merrill Moore (1903-1957). Dr. Moore was a psychiatrist who received his undergraduate degree (1924) and his medical degree (1928) at Vanderbilt.