Skip to main content

Conference in Honor of John Weymark
April 13-14, 2019 


All sessions will be held in Buttrick Hall 102. For multiple-authored papers, the presenter is designated by an asterisk.(*) Financial support has been provided by the Department of Economics at Vanderbilt University, Andrew F. Daughety, Jennifer F. Reinganum, and Peter L. Rousseau. 

Saturday, April 13

Opening Remarks 8:15-8:30 am:  Karl Shell

Session 1 8:30 - 10:00 am. Chair: Craig Brett

  • Strategy-proof multi-object mechanism design: Ex-post revenue maximization with non-quasilinear preferences”, Tomoya Kazumura (Tokyo Institute of Technology), Debasis Mishra (Indian Statistical Institute), Shigehiro Serizawa* (Osaka University)
  • Restricted environments and incentive compatibility in interdependent values models”, Salvador Barberà (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona), Dolors Berga* (Universitat de Girona), Bernardo Moreno (Universidad de Málaga)
  • Positionalist voting rules: A general definition and axiomatic characterizations”, Walter Bossert* (University of Montreal) and Kotaro Suzumura (Waseda University)

Coffee Break    10:00 - 10:25 am

Session 2 10:25 - 11:55 am. Chair: Lars Ehlers

  • Matching with consecutive acceptance intervals”, Szilvia Papai* (Concordia University) and Asefeh Salarinezhad (Concordia University).
  •  “Efficient and incentive-compatible liver exchange”, Haluk Ergin (University of California, Berkeley), Utku Unver* (Boston College) and Tayfun Sönmez (Boston College)
  • A characterization of serial dictatorship mechanisms with reservation prices”, Bettina Klaus* (University of Lausanne) and Alexandru Nichifor (University of Melbourne)

Lunch 11:55 am - 1:20 pm

Session 3 1:20 - 3:20 pm. Chair: Katherine Cuff

  • Incentive compatible Pareto gains from economic migration”, Peter Hammond (University of Warwick and Stanford University)
  • Preference for flexibility and stochastic preference”, Shasikanta Nandeibam (University of Bath)
  •  “Probabilistic sophistication without completeness”, Edi Karni (Johns Hopkins University)
  • The possibility of generalized social choice functions and Nash's independence of irrelevant alternatives”, Maurice Salles (Université de Caen-Basse-Normandie)

Coffee Break   3:20 - 3:45 pm

Session 4 3:45 - 5:15 pm. Chair: Jesse Schwartz

  • "Coarse Preference Elicitation," Yaron Azrieli (Ohio State University), Christopher Chambers* (Georgetown University), and Paul H. Healy (Ohio State University)
  •  “Claims problems with bounded claims”, William Thomson (University of Rochester)
  • “Weighted representative democracy”, Marcus Pivato* (Université de Cergy-Pontoise) and Arnold Soh (Université de Cergy-Pontoise)

Dinner   7:00 - 9:00 pm.  Amerigo, 1920 West End Avenue

Sunday, April 14

Session 5 8:30 - 10:00 am. Chair: Claude D'Aspremont

  • Gini social welfare functions and optimal non-linear income tax”, Laurent Simula (Ecole Normale Supérieure, Lyon) and Alain Trannoy* (Aix-Marseille Université)
  • Multi-period social evaluations with inequality and mobility concerns.”, Koen Decancq (University of Antwerp) and Claudio Zoli* (University of Verona)
  • Equality among unequals”, Mathieu Faure (Aix-Marseille Université) and Nicolas Gravel* (Aix-Marseille Université)

Coffee Break   10:00 - 10:20 am

Session 6 10:20 - 11:50 am. Chair: Michel LeBreton

  • "Democracy without Enlightenment: A Jury Theorem for Median Grades?" Michael Morreau (The Arctic University of Norway, via Skype)
  • A noncooperative foundation of the Nash rationing solution”, Marco Mariotti (Queen Mary University of London) and Quan Wen* (University of Washington)
  •  “Connectivity centrality measure on the nodes of graphs as a generalization of binomial coefficients”, Anna Khmelnitskaya* (Saint-Petersburg State University & V.A. Trapeznikov Institute of Control Sciences of Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow), Dolf Talman (Tilburg University), and Gerard van der Laan (VU University, Amsterdam)

Lunch  11:55 am - 1:20 pm

List of participants

Dolors Berga

Walter Bossert

Michel Le Breton

Craig Brett

Chris Chambers

Katherine Cuff

Claude D'Aspremont

Paul Edelman

Lars Ehlers

Nicolas Gravel

Peter Hammond

Eun Jeong Heo

Edi Karni

Anna Khmelnitskaya

Bettina Klaus

John Ledyard

Shasi Nandeibam

Szilvia Papai

Maurice Salles

Jesse Schwartz

Shigehiro Serizawa

Karl Shell

William Thomson

Alain Trannoy

Utku Unver

Martin Van der Linden

Quan Wen

Claudio Zoli