Skip to main content

2019-2020 Seminars, Workshops and Lectures

  • Departmental Macro and Micro seminars will beheld on Mondays in Calhoun Hall 109 from 3:30-4:50 pm.
  • Economic History and Applied Economics seminars will take place on Tuesdays in Calhoun Hall 109 from 4:00-5:20 pm.
  • Empirical Micro/Econometrics Seminars will take place on Wednesdays in Calhoun 109 from 3:30-4:50 pm.
  • Health Economics and Policy seminars take place either in Calhoun 109 from 4-5:20 pm or in 6th floor Board Conference Room of 2525 West End Avenue from 12 - 1 pm.
  • Political Economy Seminars will be held on Thursdays. 
  • International Seminars will be held on Fridays in Calhoun Hall 109 from 3:30-4:50 pm.
  • GPED Seminars will be held on Thursdays 4:00- 5:20 pm.  Location noted in each entry.

For archives of earlier seminars go to: /econ/seminars-and-research 

FALL 2019

AUGUST         

Friday, August 30, 2019
International
Joel Rodrigue, Vanderbilt University

SEPTEMBER

Wednesday, September 4, 2019
Empirical Micro
Arvind Magesan, University of Calgary
"Raising the Full Retirement Age: Defaults vs. Incentives"

Friday, September 6, 2019
International
Trang Hoang, Vanderbilt University

Monday, September 9, 2019
International
Yan Ma, Kobe University
"Diversity and Offshoring"

Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Applied Economics (This talk is joint with the Health Economics & Policy Seminar Series and the Public Policy Studies Seminar Series)
Tatiana Homonoff, New York University-Wagner Graduate School of Public Service
"Program Recertification Costs: Evidence from SNAP"

Wednesday, September 11, 2019
Econometrics
Daniel Lewis, Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Friday, September 13, 2019
International
Ben Zissimos, University of Exeter
"How Dictators Forestall Democratization Using International Trade Policy"

Tuesday, September 17, 2019
Applied Economics (This talk is joint with the Health Economics & Policy Seminar Series and the Public Policy Studies Seminar Series)
Matt Notowidigdo, Northwestern University
"Plan Value-Added: Evaluating Medicaid Managed Care Plans Using Random Assignment"

Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Econometrics
Alexander Torgovitsky, University of Chicago

Friday, September 20, 2019
International
Lin Yao, Renmin University of China
"Reserve accumulation and economic growth in China"

Friday, September 27, 2019
International
Sewon Hur, Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland
"On the Distributional Effects of International Tariffs"

Monday, September 30, 2019
Departmental Macro
Greg Huffman, Vanderbilt University
"The Stochastic Implications of Autonomous Creation and Destruction"

OCTOBER

Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Applied Economics ( This talk is joint with the Health Economics & Policy Seminar Series and the Public Policy Studies Seminar Series)
Kasey Buckles, Notre Dame University
"Combining Family History and Machine Learning to Link Historical Records"

Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Econometrics
Karun Adusumilli, University of Pennsylvania
"Dynamically Optimal Treatment Allocation Using Reinforcement Learning"

Friday October 4, 2019
International 
Joseph Shapiro, University of California - Berkeley
"The Environmental Bias of Trade Policy ” 

Monday, October 7, 2019
Departmental Macro
Oscar Jorda, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Applied Economics ( This talk is joint with the Health Economics & Policy Seminar Series and the Public Policy Studies Seminar Series)
Anna Aizer, Brown University
"Labor Market Discrimination, the Racial Wage Gap and the Schooling Decisions of the Next Generation: Evidence from WWII Abstract"

Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Econometrics
Mehmet Caner, North Carolina State University

Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Applied Economics ( This talk is joint with the Health Economics & Policy Seminar Series and the Public Policy Studies Seminar Series)
Nicholas Sanders, Cornell University

Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Econ History
Walker Hanlon, New York University
"London Fog: A Century of Pollution and Mortality, 1866-1965"

Monday, October 28, 2019
Departmental Macro
Mikhail Golosov, University of Chicago

Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Applied Economics
Thomas Lemieux, University of British Columbia

Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Empirical Micro
Lixiong Li, Johns Hopkins University

NOVEMBER

Friday, November 1, 2019
International
Terry Kim, Vanderbilt University

Monday, November 4, 2019
Departmental Micro
Jingfeng Lu, National University of Singapore

Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Applied Economics
Rema Hanna, Harvard University Kennedy School of Government

Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Econometrics
Yoosoon Chang & Joon Park, Indiana University-Bloomington

Friday, November 8, 2019
International
Jingting Fan, Pennsylvania State University

Monday, November 11, 2019
Departmental Micro
Reed Walker, University of California-Berkeley

Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Applied Economics ( This talk is joint with the Health Economics & Policy Seminar Series and the Public Policy Studies Seminar Series)
Marianne Bitler, University of California-Davis

Thursday, November 14, 2019
STEINE LECTURE
Esther Duflo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Friday, November 15, 2019
International
Anson Soderbery, Purdue University, Krannert School of Management

Monday, November 18, 2019
Departmental Macro
Ayse Imrohoroglu, University of Southern California

Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Applied Economics
Timothy Bartik, Upjohn Institute

Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Econometrics
Ji Hyung Lee, University of Illinois

DECEMBER

Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Applied Economics
Dan Herbst, University of Arizona

Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Econometrics
Andrii Babii, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Friday, December 6, 2019
International
Alan Sykes, Stanford University

Monday, December 9, 2019
Departmental Micro
Shelly Lundberg, University of California - Santa Barbara

SPRING 2020

MARCH

Monday, March 9, 2020
Departmental
Erzo Luttner, University of Minnesota

Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Econ History
Matt Jaremski, Utah State University

Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Econometrics
Konrad Menzel, New York University

Monday, March 16, 2020
Departmental
Zheng Liu, Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Departmental Micro
Larry Samuelson, Yale University

Monday, March 23, 2020
Departmental Micro
Adriana Lleras, University of Southern California

Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Econ History
Carl Kitchens, Florida State University

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Econometrics
Leland Farmer, University of Virginia

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Econ History
Vicky Fouka, Stanford University

APRIL

Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Econometrics
Kevin Song, University of British Columbia

Friday, April 3, 2020
International
Garth Frazer, University of Toronto

Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Econometrics
Enrique Sentana, Center for Monetary and Financial Studies

Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Econometrics
Clement de Chaisemartin, University of California - Santa Barbara

Monday, April 13, 2020
Departmental
Bin Wei, Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Econ History
Shari Eli, University of Toronto

Thursday, April 16, 2020
McGEE LECTURE
Peter Schott, Yale University

Monday, April 20, 2020
Departmental Micro
Christopher Chambers, Georgetown University

Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Econ History
Carola Frydman, Northwestern University

Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Econometrics
Alberto Abadie, MIT

Monday, April 27, 2020
Departmental Macro
Ayse Sapci, Utah State University 

Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Empirical Micro
Yao Luo, University of Toronto


For archives of earlier seminars go to: /econ/seminars-and-research