Skip to main content

2018-2019 Seminars, Workshops and Lectures

  • Departmental Macro and Micro seminars will beheld on Mondays in Calhoun Hall 109 from 3:30-4:50 pm.
  • Economic History and Applied Economics seminars will take place on Tuesdays in Calhoun Hall 109 from 4:00-5:20 pm.
  • Empirical Micro/Econometrics Seminars will take place on Wednesdays in Calhoun 109 from 3:30-4:50 pm.
  • Health Economics and Policy seminars take place either in Calhoun 109 from 4-5:20 pm or in 6th floor Board Conference Room of 2525 West End Avenue from 12 - 1 pm.
  • Political Economy Seminars will be held on Wednesdays in Calhoun Hall 209 from 3:30-4:50 pm. 
  • International Seminars will be held on Fridays in Calhoun Hall 109 from 3:30-4:50 pm.
  • GPED Seminars will be held on Thursdays 4:00- 5:20 pm.  Location noted in each entry.

For archives of earlier seminars go to: /econ/seminars-and-research 

FALL 2018

AUGUST

Monday, August 27, 2018
Department Micro
Dan Cao, Georgetown University
"Optimal Collateralized Contracts" 

Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Empirical Micro
Matthew Marcoux, McGill University

“Zeros in Market Shares for Differentiated Products: An Indirect Inference Approach”

SEPTEMBER

Monday, September 10, 2018
Departmental Micro
Paul Healy, Ohio State University

"Epistemic Experiments: Utilities, Beliefs, and Irrational Play"

Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - Postponed
Health
Ted Joyce, City University of New York

Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Empirical Micro
Yu Zhu, Bank of Canada
"Robust Inference in First-Price Auctions: Experimental Findings As Identifying Restrictions"

Monday, September 17, 2018
Departmental Micro
Eric Bond, Vanderbilt University
“Bargaining with Private Information and the Option of a Compulsory License”

Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Applied Economics
Calhoun 337, 11:10 am-12:30 pm
Seth Sanders, Duke University
"Using Response Time Data from Social Science Surveys to Model Cognition and Cognitive Decline"

Friday, September 21, 2018
International 
Javier Cravino, University of Michigan
" Price Rigidities and the Relative PPP"

Monday, September 24, 2018
Departmental Micro
Rabah Amir, University of Iowa
"Inferior Goods and Public Good Provision"

Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Economic History
Larry Neal, University of Illinois
"Financing the Louisiana Purchase: A Case Study of How Modern Finance Emerged in the Crucible of War, 1789-1815"

Friday, September 28, 2018
1:00-2:00 pm, Calhoun 209 
Cheng Cheng, University of Mississippi
"The Spillover Effects of Highly Publicized Police-Related Deaths on Policing and Crime: Evidence from Large U.S. Cities"

OCTOBER

Monday, October 1, 2018
Departmental Macro
Yongseok Shin, Washington University at St. Louis
"Binding Up the Nation's Wounds: An Economic Analysis of the Korean Reunification"

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Empirical Micro
Gaurab Aryal, University of Virginia
"Price Discrimination in International Airline Markets"

Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Political Economy 
Nicolas Werquin, University of Toulouse (visiting Yale)
"Taxes and Turnout"

Friday, October 5, 2018
Midwest Trade and Economic Theory Conference

Monday, October 8, 2018
Departmental Micro
William Thomson, University of Rochester
“On the Adjudication of Conflicting Claims”

Tuesday, October 9, 2018
Economic History
Dan Bogart, UC-Irvine
"Infrastructure Access and Population Growth: Evidence from Nineteenth Century England"

Wednesday, October 10, 2018
Empirical Micro
Brent Hickman, Queens University
"Pre-College Human Capital Investment and Affirmative Action: A Structural Policy Analysis of US College Admissions"

Friday, October 12, 2018
International
Francis Ratsimbazafy, Vanderbilt University
"Strategic Interaction Between Large Economies in Free Trade Agreement Formation"

Monday, October 15, 2018
Departmental Micro
Martyna Kobus, Polish Academy of Science
"Stochastic Dominance Relations on Multidimensional Grids” 

Tuesday, October 16, 2018 - CANCELLED
Applied Economics
Marjorie McElroy, Duke University

Monday, October 22, 2018
Departmental Micro
Greg Leo, Vanderbilt University
“Complainer’s Dilemma” 

Tuesday, October 23, 2018 - Calhoun 109, 4-5:20 pm
Health Economics
Alan Barreca, UCLA
“Effects of Ambient Temperature on Birth Timing and Length of Gestation in the United States”

Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - CANCELLED
Empirical Micro
Pedro Carneiro, University College London

Friday, October 26, 2018
Applied Economics
William Evans, University of Notre Dame 
“Guns and Violence: The Enduring Impact of Crack Cocaine Markets on Young Black Males”

Friday, October 26, 2018
Departmental Macro
Zhigang Feng, University of Nebraska Omaha
"Sovereign Defaults: Macroeconomic Activity and Political and Financial Frictions"

Monday, October 29, 2018
Departmental Micro
Eun Jeong Heo, Vanderbilt University
“Financial Aid in College Admissions: Need-Based Versus Merit-Based”

Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Applied Economics
Pawel Krolikowski, Cleveland Federal Reserve Bank
“Parental Proximity and Earnings After Job Displacements”

Wednesday, October 31, 2018
Political Economy
Milan Svolik, Yale University
“Democracy in America? Partisanship, Polarization, and the Robustness of Support for Democracy in the United States”

NOVEMBER

Friday, November 2, 2018
Midwest Macroeconomics Conference

Wednesday, November 7
Empirical Micro
Jason Allen, Bank of Canada
“Resolving Failed Banks: Uncertainty, Multiple Bidding, & Auction Design"

Friday, November 9, 2018
International
Ebehireme Iyoha, Vanderbilt University
"Spillovers from Exporters and Multinationals through the Network of US Firms"

Monday, November 12, 2018
Departmental Micro
Andrew Daughety & Jennifer Reinganum, Vanderbilt University  
"Reducing Unjust Convictions: Plea Bargaining, Trial, and Evidence Suppression/Disclosure"

Tuesday, November 13, 2018, 4:00-5:20 p.m.
Health
Maya Rossin-Slater, Stanford University
"Violence While in Utero: The Impacts of Assaults During Pregnancy on Birth Outcomes" 

Friday, November 16, 2018, 3:30-4:15 p.m.
International
Terry Kim, Vanderbilt University
"Inequality During an International Financial Crisis"

Friday, November 16, 2018, 4:15-5:00 p.m.
International
Frank Ciarliero, Vanderbilt University
"On the Cyclicality of Debt Market Aggregates in a DSGE"

Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Economic History
Dylan Connor, Arizona State University
“Leaving the Enclave: Evidence on Cultural and Economic Assimilation from the Industrial Removal Office”

Thursday, November 29, 2018
Paul Niekamp, Vanderbilt University
"Good Bang for the Buck: Effects of Rural Gun Use on Crime"

Friday, November 30, 2018
Francis Ratsimbazafy, Vanderbilt University
"Strategic Interaction Between Large Economies in Free Trade Agreement Formation"

DECEMBER

Monday, December 3, 2018
Departmental Micro
Sheryl Ball, Virginia Polytechnic Institute  
“Neuromodulation of Other Regarding Preferences via HD-tDCS over the rTPJ”

Wednesday, December 5, 2018
STEINE LECTURE
Susan Athey, Stanford University
"The Impact of Digital Intermediaries on Product Quality and Industry Structure: Evidence from News and Rideshare"

Friday, December 7, 2018
International
Bev Lapham, Queen's University
“Cross-Border Travel:  A Gravity Approach”

Monday, December 10, 2018
Departmental Macro
Allen Head, Queen's University
“Heterogeneity, Frictional Assignment and Home-ownership"

SPRING 2019

FEBRUARY

Monday , February 25, 2019
Departmental Micro
Catherine Eckel, Texas A&M University

Wednesday , February 27, 2019
Econometrics
Victoria Zinde-Walsh, McGill University

MARCH

Monday, March 4, 2019 - CANCELLED
Departmental Macro
Oscar Jorda, UC Davis

Monday, March 11, 2019
Departmental Macro
Charles Jones, Stanford University

Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Economic History
Joshua Lewis, University of Montreal

Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Econometrics
J. Isaac Miller, University

Monday, March 18, 2019
Departmental Macro
Andrea Lanteri, Duke University 

Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Econometrics
Mikkel Plagborg-Moller, Princeton University

Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Health
Heather Royer, UC Santa Barbara 

Friday, March 29, 2019
Departmental Macro
Enrique Mendoza, University of Pennsylvania 

APRIL

Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Health
Matt Notowidigdo, Northwestern University 

Wednesday, April 3, 2019, 11:30 - 1:30 pm
Econometrics
Cindy Wang, National Tsing Hua University

Wednesday, April 3, 2019
Econometrics
Takuya Ura, UC Davis

Thursday, April 4, 2019
STEINE LECTURE
Janet Yellen - Brookings Institute
"A Conversation with Janet Yellen"
Tickets will be required--more information in Spring 2019

Monday, April 8, 2019
Departmental Macro
Fatih Guvenen, University of Minnesota 

Tuesday, April 9, 2019
Economic History
Adriane Fresh, Vanderbilt University

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
Econometrics
Yoonseok Lee, Syracuse University

Thursday, April 11, 2019
Political Economy 
Ernesto Dal Bo, UC Berkeley

Friday, April 12, 2019
International
Andrei Levchenko, University of Michigan

Monday , April 15, 2019
Departmental Micro
Bettina Klaus,University of Lausanne

Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Econometrics
Joon Park, Indiana University

Tuesday, April 23, 2019
McGEE LECTURE
Joel Mokyr, Northwestern University

Wednesday, April 24, 2019
Econometrics
Jason Abrevaya, University of Texas - Austin

Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Econometrics
Kengo Kato, Cornell University

 

 


For archives of earlier seminars go to: /econ/seminars-and-research