Skip to main content

2015 Faculty News


John Weymark's paper,"Cognitive Diversity, Binary Decisions, and Epistemic Democracy," was published in Dec. 2015 in Episteme: A Journal of Social Epistemology. [1/16]


In 2015, John Weymark presented his paper, "Voting over Selfishly Optimal Nonlinear Income Tax Schedules" at the Graduate School of Business and Economics at the University of Maastricht, the Netherlands, and at the Center for Mathematical Economics at the University of Bielefeld, Germany. [1/16]


Kamal Saggi spoke on the topic "Innovation, Tech Transfer, and IPRs in the Global Economy: Implications for India" at the 1st India Conference on Innovation, Intellectual Property, and Competition. The conference took place at the Indian Institute of Management in Bangalore, Dec. 7-8, 2015. [1/16]


Kamal Saggi has been elected president of the International Economics and Finance Society. He will be President-Elect for 2016, with his two-year term as President beginning in 2017.


John Weymark spoke on the topic of "Measurement Scales and Welfarist Social Choice" at a conference held in honor of economist Bhaskar Dutta's 65th Birthday. The conference was held at the Indian Statistical Institute (New Delhi, India) on December 20, 2015.


Eric Bond was a guest speaker at the International Conference on Trade, Financial Integration, and Economic Growth at Kobe University (Japan) on November 22, 2015. He spoke on the topic of "Gradualism, Compensation, and Safeguards."


Mario Crucini has been elected as an officer (Americas Chapter) in the Central Bank Research Association. CEBRA’s officers are elected based on their research credentials. The mission of CEBRA is to encourage applied and theoretical research on topics relevant to central banks, financial regulators, international financial institutions, and fiscal authorities, as well as to connect the research staff of these institutions with academia.


Andrew Dustan  has been awarded a one year, $37,119 grant from the Spencer Foundation to study the effects of a large-scale scholarship program on high school dropouts in Mexico City. [12/15]

Leo Gregory Leo is one of four new faculty members the Department of Economics is pleased to welcome for the 2015-2016 academic year.]
Santanna We also welcome Pedro Sant'Anna to the faculty.  For more information on all our new faculty, go here.
Wooders Eugene Vorobeychik (Engineering) and Myrna Wooders (Economics) have been awarded a 3 year grant for $442,051 in support their research project, "Theory and Application of Mechanism Design for Team Formation." This project addresses questions of design of mechanisms for efficient team formation from the perspectives of computer science, microeconomics, experimental economics, and game theory. The grant is sponsored by the Division of Information and Intelligent Systems of the NSF. 
Midwest Macro Mario Crucini (Vanderbilt University), Gerhard Glomm (Indiana University), and Ping Wang (Washington University, St. Louis) were recently honored for establishing the Midwest Macroeconomics Conference on the occasion of its 20th anniversary, November 6-8, 2015, at the University of Rochester, Rochester NY.
Wooders Myrna Wooders has been awarded an NSF Grant for a Conference series on Network Science in Economics. The award funds a series of four conferences, to be held over four years, treating social and economic networks.  The series will be co-directed with Matthew Jackson (Stanford).  The first conference, focusing on Information Transmission in Networks, was hosted by the Center for History and Economics at Harvard University, May 1-3, 2015. See  for details of the first event. [10/15]
Savelyev Peter Savelyev has been awarded a $260K, three-year grant by the National Science Foundation. Entitled "Economic and Psychological Origins of Health Capital Accumulation," the grant will explore the effects of cognitive skills, socioemotional skills, and education on health behaviors, health-related lifestyles, health, and longevity.
photo Bill Collins has been selected by the Economic History Association to be the next editor of the Journal of Economic History. His term begins in 2016.

BACK to Faculty News