Skip to main content

2013 Faculty News

saggi Kamal Saggi has been appointed the Frances and John Downing Family Professor of Economics.
atack John Weymark has received a courtesy appointment as Professor of Philosophy at Vanderbilt.
atack John Weymark has been appointed as an Editor of  Economics and Philosoph y for a three-year term.
Peter Savelyev's article on "Understanding the Mechanisms through which and Influential Early Childhood Program Boosted Adult Outcomes" is the lead article in the October, 2013 American Economic Review.  This article was also recently referenced in Vanderbilt University's Research News.
NEW FACULTY: We are pleased to welcome Professor Christopher (Kitt) Carpenter, as well as new assistant professors Eun Jeong Heo, Dong-Hyuk Kim, and Alejandro Molnar. 
Mario Crucini's research on international wages and prices is featured is the National Bureau of Economic Research  Reporter ."

Christina Rennhoff received the Gilliam Award for excellence in teaching by a lecturer or senior lecturer.  

Peter Rousseau received the Ernest A. Jones faculty advisor award for excellent undergraduate advising.  

Malcolm Getz was recently honored by the College of Arts & Science for his 40 years of service to Vanderbilt.
Alejandro Molnar's work on congestion externalities in the airline industry was selected for the "Best paper by a young researcher" award at the Annual Conference of the International Transportation Economics Association, held July 10-12 at Northwestern University. More details here:
Mario Crucini delivered the keynote address: “Flat World Fiction, Real World Friction: What Determines International Wages and Prices?” at the Global Policy, Global Institutions and Global Development Conference hosted by Queen Mary University of London on June 25, 2013.

Professors Emeritus Atack and Maneschi were honored for their careers of scholarship and service at Commencement and at a reception and dinner hosted by the Department. 


Professors Emeritus Jeremy Atack and Andrea Maneschi pictured above.

BACK to Faculty News