Skip to main content

2009 Faculty News

Yanqin Fan  received the Chancellor's Research Award at the University's Fall 2009 Faculty Assembly. This award recognizes excellence in research, scholarship, or creative expression, and acknowledges recent significant accomplishments presented or published in the preceding three calendar years. Yanqin's recent paper with X. Chen, "Estimation of Copula-based Semiparametric Time Series Models" won the 2008 Zellner Award by the Journal of Econometrics. Having one of our colleagues winning such a prestigious award through a university wide competition is also a recognition of the quality of the economics faculty by the University. Congratulations to Professor Fan for winning this award, and for her contribution to the department, the University, and the profession.


Tong Li  has been awarded a grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) to support his work on analyzing auction data, studying bidders’ strategic behavior, and addressing policy related questions using game-theoretic models and state-of-art econometric methods. Despite stiff competition for NSF funding in social science areas, the economics faculty at Vanderbilt have fared quite well in getting funded by the NSF. Recent NSF grantees from the economics faculty include Jeremy Atack, Rick Bond, Bill Collins, Mario Crucini, Andrew Daughety, Yanqin Fan, Jennifer Reinganum, Peter Rousseau, Moto Shintani, and John Siegfried.


John Weymark delivered a plenary address to the 2009 Grand Colloque de l'Association pour le Développement de la Recherche en Économie et Statistiques  held at the University of Caen, France, June 10 to 12th. The theme of the conference was: New Developments in Social Choice and Welfare Theories. The conference was a tribute to Maurice Salles, one of the founding Editors of the journal, Social Choice and Welfare. Weymark's talk, "Dominant Strategy Implementation with a Convex Product Space of Valuations", was based on joint research with Katherine Cuff, Sunghoon Hong, Jesse Schwartz, and Quan Wen.


harvard university press
Forthcoming book by John Siegfried Expected release date for the book Better Living Through Economics, edited by John Siegfried, is Fall 2009 through the Harvard University Press.
Click here to read an abstract.


Yanqin Fan wins the 2008 Zellner Award Yanqin Fan's paper with X. Chen "Estimation of Copula-based Semiparametric Time Series Models" has won the 2008 Zellner Award by the Journal of Econometrics for the best theory paper published in 2006 and 2007. The Zellner Award was established by the Journal of Econometrics in honor of the Journal's founding editor Arnold Zellner in 2002 and is given every other year to the best theory paper published in the Journal over the past two years. Tong Li ‘s coauthored work won the inaugural Zellner Award in 2002.


Andrew Daughety and Jennifer Reinganum to deliver keynote address: Andrew Daughety and Jennifer Reinganum were keynote speakers at the 5th Summer Workshop on Industrial Organization, the University of Auckland, New Zealand, held February 26-27, 2009.


Weymarks receive Faculty Award Professors Diana and John Weymark were presented with the Student Athletics' Distinguished Faculty of the Game Award on February 5, 2009 at Vanderbilt's varsity basketball game against the University of Alabama.


Jeremy Atack releases new book about Financial MarketsJeremy Atack has a new book available through Cambridge Press entitled "The Origin and Development of Financial Markets and Institutions From the Seventeenth Century to the Present". The book was edited by Jeremy Atack and Larry Neal from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. 


Click here for the abstract.   Click here for a pdf of the book cover.