Skip to main content

Graduate Student Association

The purpose of the Biological Sciences Graduate Student Association is to increase camaraderie between all graduate students in Biological Sciences by holding social events throughout the school year, aiding in recruiting graduate students to the department, and helping graduate students through their qualifying exams and other phases of their graduate career.


What We Do

  • Organize the annual Department Retreat
  • Organize monthly social events and summer canoeing day trip
  • Host a departmental seminar with a grad-student-selected invited speaker each semester
  • Mock quals, where upper-level students help lower-level students prepare for their qualifying exam
  • Upper/lower level graduate student mentor/mentee program
  • Community outreach and service
  • Provide resources for international students
  • Organize an annual international culture event
  • Connect graduate students with lecture opportunities
  • Send out the monthly departmental newsletter
  • Make departmental t-shirts
  • Advocate for graduate student needs to the department administration and Graduate Student Council
2017-18 BSCI GSA Board
President Jessica Abner jessica.c.jackson@vanderbilt.edu
Vice President Stephanie Birnbaum stephanie.s.chiang@vanderbilt.edu
Treasurer Kerri-Ann Anderson kerri-ann.anderson@vanderbilt.edu
Social Chair (& deputies) Bryan Joosse bryan.a.joosse@vanderbilt.edu
Justin Critchlow justin.t.critchlow@vanderbilt.edu
Stephen Ferguson stephen.t.ferguson@vanderbilt.edu
Education Chair Dylan Shropshire john.d.shropshire@vanderbilt.edu
Speaker Chairs Bryan Gitschlag bryan.l.gitschlag@vanderbilt.edu
Noah Bradley noah.bradley@vanderbilt.edu
Secretary Jacob Steenwyk noah.bradley@vanderbilt.edu
Social Media Kate Snyder katherine.t.snyder@vanderbilt.edu
Service Chair Parker Rundstrom parker.j.rundstrom@vanderbilt.edu
VP of International Affairs Luisa Jabbur maria.l.jabbur@vanderbilt.edu
Professional Development Chair Cait Kirby caitlyn.s.kirby@vanderbilt.edu