Skip to main content

Research Faculty Associated with the BCB Program


The listed faculty apply biochemistry and chemical biology methods in their research programs. Students wishing to conduct independent research in a laboratory not listed on this page must obtain approval during the application for BCB 3201 (Independent Lab Research).


College of Arts & Sciences    

Department of Biological Sciences       

Brandt Eichman *        
Katherine Friedman  
Todd Graham   
Lauren Jackson     
Carl Johnson *    
Jared Nordman  
Maulik Patel      
James Patton    
Charles Singleton
Laurence Zwiebel *       

Department of Chemistry    

Brian Bachmann *    
David Cliffel *      
Eva Harth *    
Jeffrey Johnston *      
Terry Lybrand *      
John McLean *     
Jens Meiler *    
Ned Porter *     
Carmelo Rizzo *     
Sandra Rosenthal *    
Michael Stone *    
Gary Sulikowski *    
Steve Townsend *     
David Wright *     

Department of Physics       

Erin Rericha   

School of Engineering 

Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering    

Matthew Lang      
John T. Wilson                                

School of Medicine    

Department of Biochemistry 

Manuel Ascano  *   
Richard Caprioli *         
Bruce Carter         
Walter Chazin *      
David Cortez *    
Martin Egli      
Steve Fesik *     
Fred Guengerich *     
Lawrence Marnett *     
Neil Osheroff *
Jennifer Pietenpol     
Charles Sanders *     
Kevin Schey     
John York *           

Department of Cancer Biology   

Robert Carnahan *    
Jonathan Irish*     
Carlos Lopez *     
Charles Manning *     
Albert Reynolds *          

Department of Cell and Developmental Biology    

Dylan Burnette 
Kathy Gould     
Ken Lau      
Ethan Lee *   
Irina  Kaverina    
Jason MacGurn *     
Melanie Ohi      
Ryoma (Puck) Ohi *     
Ian Macara     
Matthew Tyska    
Susan Wente      
Marija Zanic           

Department of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics    

Paul Bock       
Roger Colbran       
Roger Cone *     
Anne Kenworthy      
Hassane Mchaourab *     
Teru Nakagawa       
Gregor Neuert *          

Department of Pathology, Microbiology, and Immunology    

Mari Hadjifrangiskou *     
Billy Hudson *      
Borden Lacy *      
Andrew Link *     
Sam Santoro       
Eric Skaar *  

Department of Pharmacology   

Alan Brash *       
Alex Brown *     
Ron Emeson        
Heidi Hamm *    
Tina Iverson *       
Craig Lindsley *       
Claus Schneider *     
Benjamin Spiller       
Dave Weaver *      

Division of Cardiovascular Medicine    

Charles Hong *

* Faculty are also members of the VICB